Derek Jeter’s Ball and Google+ in More Than 140 Characters

I’ve been such a bad blogger lately, and by lately, I mean for six months.  Or more.  I’m not giving up, though, so don’t get used to me being a blog hermit.

The burning question in the sports world today is, “If you caught Derek Jeter’s 3,000 hit, what would you do with it?”

I would have done that same thing that Christian Lopez did with it, give it to Jeter.  I know how much easier that is to say that it is to do when the ball we’re talking about was estimated to make $400,000 at auction, but… wait… $400,000?!?!

Lopez got some sweet swag; four front row seats for this season and the postseason and bats, balls and jerseys signed by Jeter, but I’m pretty sure that $400,000 would buy lots of memorabilia.

That’s a tough spot, thinking about the historical significance of Jeter’s ball and the present day significance of my bank account at the same time.  I’d sell the ball, but not at auction like some wannabe Scrooge McDuck.  I wouldn’t be happy unless it ended up in Jeter’s hands, that is where it belongs, but a down payment on a house or a college fund or an early retirement are too good to pass up.

Google+ is taking the social media world by storm.  Normally I’d be all “Pffft, who needs another stupid social network.”, but Google+ is damn cool.  It’s so much cleaner than Facebook.  No ads (and probably won’t need ads, as that’s not how Google monetizes their sites), no games (some might see this as a downfall, but I’m so happy to not see all those game updates in my feed) and the circle sharing system that lets you choose who in your networks can see what.

(Unrelated update: Stephen A Smith is hosting Jim Rome is Burning on ESPN.  This guy finds a way to be awful every time he takes the mic.  I’m going to go channel surfing, maybe Dr. Phil is on.)

Anyway, Google+, in my book, is already better than facebook.  No one is going to know just how much better unless Google can 500,000,000 people signed up to G+ profiles, but it’s off to a great start.  It’s not quite as good at networking as Twitter has proven to be, but there’s no way to tell if that’s because there aren’t enough users yet, or if Twitter’s appeal goes beyond just yelling at each other for most users.

Either way, Google+ is going to be around for a while.  You can find me at +JoshFlagner.

Police Blotter of the Week:

July 2nd – A little before 10 pm a Miner Drive resident was hammering a hanger into the wall of his apartment, which angered his neighbor.  The 62-year-old neighbor allegedly threw a dish against his door, shattering it.  She was charged with criminal mischief.

Because that’s what I do when I’m angry, I break all of my own stuff.

I’d like to apologize about the rain in the area, too.  It was my fault, I forgot to cover the grill.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Medina, My Opinion, Police Blotters, Sports

Leave a Reply

