The Sixth Big Fifty, Sitting at Caribou Coffee

So, by now the 50/50 challenge is wrapped up over at Oh Shit…She’s Awake and A Little Wicked, and I gotta say, they killed it. Some of the posts were funny, some were heartfelt, and a few turned the corner straight into emotional and compelling. My laziness notwithstanding, my attempts at the Big 50 list is an homage to their honesty.

The sixth topic is simply “Your favorite things”. It’s pleasantly ironic that its time to write about my favorite things while I’m doing two of them; chilling at a coffee shop and writing.

Certainly, the coffee shops that I frequented in my past lives were a bit more lively than the Caribou Coffee that I’m sitting in now, but I got old. That sort of lively isn’t very good for you, anyway. Now I enjoy the quiet, the coffee and the wifi. Like I said, I got old.

Aside from quiet moments to organize my thoughts and then writing them down somehow, I can probably gather all of my favorite things into tw0 broad categories. Sports and laughter. 

Sports is both the most frivolous of my favorite things and yet something that I’d go absolutely crazy without. I love the complexities of the different games, the strengths and weaknesses of the players and coaches, the strategies, and the compelling moments that only sports can provide. I also need to play sports. I need the competition in my life, not because I have to win, but because I have to stay sharp. Never competing would drive me crazy. I’d get lazy, both mentally and physically, and that would piss me off so badly I wouldn’t know how to describe it to you.

Laughter is everything that sports isn’t. Laughter takes good moments and polishes them to brilliance. Whether its me making others laugh, others making me laugh, or a party that turns the room into a roar, laughter helps my world go around. The underrated thing about laughter, though, is how it can cut through tears. Laughter doesn’t take away being sad or angry, but it can break up the misery into smaller, more bearable pieces.  

They say that time heals all wounds, and that’s true.  But “they” are selling laughter short.  I’ve seen laughter help to heal after stressful days and after break ups, I’ve seen laughter help heal in hospitals and at funerals.  

We need more laughter.  Let’s work on that.

3 Comments

Filed under The Big 50

3 responses to “The Sixth Big Fifty, Sitting at Caribou Coffee

  1. this my friend: “Laughter is everything that sports isn’t. Laughter takes good moments and polishes them to brilliance. Whether its me making others laugh, others making me laugh, or a party that turns the room into a roar, laughter helps my world go around. The underrated thing about laughter, though, is how it can cut through tears. Laughter doesn’t take away being sad or angry, but it can break up the misery into smaller, more bearable pieces.”

    is some fine writing. It is one of the better ways to describe what laughter can be that I’ve ever come across. Laughter has always been a big part of life and it has saved many a day by just providing a few moments of relief from the rest of the world.

    It doesn’t get better than sitting in a coffee shop. I am so happy to live right around the corner from Phoenix coffee.

  2. Jane

    That is the honest to goodness truth! However complex it may be, to burst out into laughter right at that point of daily stress turned into unhealthy tension…..just when you were about to lose it and cry. Yeah, I’m a girl.
    Talk about a good game or race, no stress there! Hahaha.

Leave a Reply

